× The application portal will temporarily be down for maintenance on Tuesday, 9/28 between 9am-11am ET

Additional Incentives

The Charge Up New Jersey Program has been successful for the second year in a row, with allocated funding expected to dwindle by the end of the week. The deadline to order, purchase, or lease an eligible electric vehicle is 9:00 p.m. ET on Wednesday, September 15, 2021.

 

Dealerships will have until October 15, 2021 to submit incentive applications for eligible vehicles. The cut-off date ensures that all eligible customers who are due an incentive have the opportunity to have their incentive reserved and then applied at the point-of-sale once the vehicle is delivered.

How else can you save on an electric vehicle (EV) purchase? We’ve compiled a few helpful links to help you further reduce the cost of purchasing and operating your new EV.

Federal Tax Credit

Up to $7,500

Battery and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles may be eligible for a tax credit up to $7,500 from the federal government, depending on the capacity of the EV’s battery. Visit fueleconomy.gov to check out the breakdown of tax credit amounts.

The federal EV tax credit amount is affected by your tax liability. For example, if you purchase an EV eligible for $7,500, but you owe only $4,000 in taxes, you will receive a $3,500 credit.

If you lease your EV, the tax credit goes to the leasing entity. However, dealerships often factor the tax credit into the cost of the lease, lowering your down payment or monthly payments. Ask your sales representative how your tax credit will be applied.

Once a manufacturer sells 200,000 eligible plug-in electric vehicles, the available federal tax credit begins to phase out. For details on phase out amounts, go to fueleconomy.gov.

Tax Credit Amount For Vehicles Delivered
$7,500 On or before Dec. 31, 2019
$3,750 Jan. 1 to June 30, 2020
$1,875 July 1 to Dec. 31, 2020
$0 After Dec. 31, 2020

Please note, Charge Up New Jersey is not a tax credit program but a separate EV incentive program. For eligibility requirements and applicable deadlines, please see the eligibility guidelines.

Exemption from New Jersey Sales Tax

The New Jersey Legislature exempts residents from paying state sales tax on the purchase or lease of a zero-emissions vehicle, which includes BEVs but not PHEVs. With the current sales tax rate at 6.625%, this is a significant incentive that offers hundreds to thousands of dollars off the vehicle cost – at the point-of-purchase.

To apply this incentive at the dealership, the customer must fill out a sales tax Exempt Use Certificate (Form ST-4), which is available from the New Jersey Division of Taxation online. The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s Drive Green website has a list of vehicles that are eligible for the sales tax exemption.